Mika Hakkinen won the Japanese GP in Suzuka on this day in 1999 and won his second consecutive world championship at the same track where he won his first title one year earlier.

After the controversial Malaysian GP where Michael Schumacher returned after six races due to broken leg and helped Irvine beat Hakkinen, Irvine had four points more than Hakkinen ahead of the last race in Japan, just as Ferrari had four points more than McLaren.

Victory for Hakkinen in Japan was enough for the title even if Irvine was second, but in the case of Schumacher’s victory and Hakkinen’s second place Irvine could finish fourth and win the championship.

Schumacher, as well as in Malaysia, secured pole position (1:37.470), 0.350 seconds ahead of Hakkinen, 0.769 seconds ahead of Coulthard, 1.226 ahead of Frentzen in Jordan and 1.505 seconds ahead of teammate Irvine.

But with a fantastic start from second place, Hakkinen took control of his own destiny and led in 50 out of 53 laps and celebrated five seconds ahead of Schumacher and minute and 35 seconds ahead of Irvine.

Coulthard retired after a hydraulic failure so Ferrari won their first constructors’ title since 1983. First driver’s title will have to wait another year before Schumacher finally wins his first title for Ferrari and third overall.

“Brilliant! What a great English word to express how I feel. It was one of the best races I’ll never forget,” said Hakkinen after winning in Japan.

“Although I think I did a great job, that would not have been possible without all the people at the factory an here in Japan, thanks to everyone and of course my teammate David, West, Mercedes, Mobil, Ilmor, Bridgestone and all other sponsors. my mother and father. Thank you all.”

It was a very strange season in which McLaren had the fastest car in one lap (11 pole position in 16 races for Hakkinen), but the MP4-14 was much more demanding for drivin than its predecessor. This is one of the reasons why Coulthard did not win any pole positions (and he won them in 1998 and 2000 and 2001 and 2002).

Also, the car was unreliable in relation to Ferrari, so Hakkinen retired from leading positions in Australia due to engine failure. In Germany, his tyre spectacularly failed at very high speed while in England his wheel came loose.

Hakkinen spun off his unpredictable car from leading positions in Imola and Monza, and in Austria he was spun by team-mate Coutlhard in first lap who beat him in Belgium and took points off him in the drivers’ championship, as opposed to the support Irvine had from Salo and Schumacher .

Along with Schumacher’s accident in Silverstone and Hakkinen’s mistakes and bad luck, Irvine unexpectedly got his chance for glory. Salo had given him victory in Germany and Schumacher gifted him victory in Malaysia. But still, Irvine was not the one who broke Ferrari’s 20-year wait for the driver’s title. It will be Schumacher who will lift the trophy one year latter at the same track and start the new winning era for Ferrari.


1 1 Mika Häkkinen McLaren/Mercedes 53 1:31:18.785
2 3 M.Schumacher Ferrari 53 1:31:23.800 5.015
3 4 Eddie Irvine Ferrari 53 1:32:54.473 1:35.688
4 8 H-H.Frentzen Jordan/Mugen-Honda 53 1:32:57.420 1:38.635
5 6 Ralf Schumacher Williams/Supertec 53 1:32:58.279 1:39.494
6 11 Jean Alesi Sauber/Petronas 52 1:31:31.101 1 lap
7 17 Johnny Herbert Stewart/Ford 52 1:31:33.352 1 lap
8 16 R.Barrichello Stewart/Ford 52 1:31:34.255 1 lap
9 22 J.Villeneuve BAR/Supertec 52 1:31:46.116 1 lap
10 10 Alexander Wurz Benetton/Playlife 52 1:31:55.310 1 lap
11 12 Pedro Diniz Sauber/Petronas 52 1:32:16.261 1 lap
12 23 Ricardo Zonta BAR/Supertec 52 1:32:44.136 1 lap
13 14 Pedro de la Rosa Arrows 51 1:31:39.478 2 laps
14 9 G.Fisichella Benetton/Playlife 47 1:23:50.733 Engine
(15) 15 T.Takagi Arrows 43 1:18:01.322 Gearbox
(16) 20 Luca Badoer Minardi/Ford 43 1:18:30.595 Engine
(11) 2 David Coulthard McLaren/Mercedes 39 1:09:15.879 Hydraulics
(15) 21 Marc Gené Minardi/Ford 31 55:30.367 Gearbox
(17) 7 Damon Hill Jordan/Mugen-Honda 21 38:00.930 Retired
(14) 18 Olivier Panis Prost/Peugeot 19 33:48.473 Alternator
(9) 19 Jarno Trulli Prost/Peugeot 3 5:22.709 Engine
5 A.Zanardi Williams/Supertec 0 Electrical


1 Mika Häkkinen 76
2 Eddie Irvine 74
3 Heinz-Harald Frentzen 54
4 David Coulthard 48


1 Ferrari 128
2 McLaren/Mercedes 124
3 Jordan/Mugen-Honda 61
4 Stewart/Ford 36
Load More Related Articles
Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

Dramatic 2008 Brazilian GP – Hamilton wins the title in the last lap

On this day in 2008, Lewis Hamilton finished fifth in the last race of the 2008 F1 champio…