Michael Schumacher won on his first appearance in new Ferrari F2002 in the Brazilian GP on this day in 2002 after another clash with Juan Pablo Montoya in the first lap.

Ferrari started the 2002 F1 season with the updated F2001 car, with Schumacher winning from pole in Australia and finishing third in Malaysia behind two Williams drivers while in the third race in Brazil only Schumacher had the new F2002.

The value of the new car was already evident in the qualifying when Schumacher finished second in the very hot conditions, which then suited Michelin, 0.127 seconds behind Montoya in the BMW Williams FW24 which was his 75th front row start in Formula 1.

Rubens Barrichello, always very fast on Interlagos, qualified in only eighth place with eight tenths behind Montoya.

Michael Schumacher and Juan Pablo Montoya had a controversial fight at the start – the German has overtaken the Colombian in the Senna S sequence of corners, but Montoya tried to strike back at the end of the next straight while Schumacher closed the door very late and clipped his opponent’s front wing.

In a previous race in Malaysia, Michael lost his front wing and Montoya was penalized while no drivers were punished after the incident in Brazil.

Michael Schumacher Ferrari F2002 leads Rubens Barrichello Ferrari F2001 Brazilian GP F1 2002 Foto Ferrari
Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello didn’t have the same car in 2002 Brazilian GP (Photo: Ferrari)

Schumacher easily won in front of his brother Ralf, who was only half a second behind him but without any chance of overtaking his older brother who had superior top speed while third-placed Coulthard in McLaren was almost a minute behind.

It was 100th podium for Schumacher in 163 Formula 1 race starts.

Rubens Barrichello got the new F2002 at the next race in Imola and the car was defeated only in Monaco by Coulthard in McLaren MP4-17.

Michael Schumacher finished all 17 races in the podium in 2002 becoming the only driver in Formula One history to finish all podium races on the podium.


35Ralf SchumacherWilliams/BMW1:13.3280.214
43David CoulthardMcLaren/Mercedes1:13.5650.451
54Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren/Mercedes1:13.5950.481
614Jarno TrulliRenault1:13.6110.497
715Jenson ButtonRenault1:13.6650.551
97Nick HeidfeldSauber/Petronas1:14.2331.119
1024Mika SaloToyota1:14.4431.329
1117Pedro de la RosaJaguar/Cosworth1:14.4641.350
128Felipe MassaSauber/Petronas1:14.5331.419
1316Eddie IrvineJaguar/Cosworth1:14.5371.423
1625Allan McNishToyota1:14.9901.876
1712Olivier PanisBAR/Honda1:14.9961.882
1910Takuma SatoJordan/Honda1:15.2962.182
2023Mark WebberMinardi/Asiatech1:15.3402.226
2121Enrique BernoldiArrows/Cosworth1:15.3552.241
2222Alex YoongMinardi/Asiatech1:16.7283.614


25Ralf SchumacherWilliams/BMW711:31:44.2510.588
33David CoulthardMcLaren/Mercedes711:32:42.77359.110
415Jenson ButtonRenault711:32:50.5461:06.883
624Mika SaloToyota701:32:37.0741 lap
716Eddie IrvineJaguar/Cosworth701:32:41.8121 lap
817Pedro de la RosaJaguar/Cosworth701:32:59.7071 lap
910Takuma SatoJordan/Honda691:31:52.1512 laps
1123Mark WebberMinardi/Asiatech681:32:37.6343 laps
124Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren/Mercedes671:27:39.929Wheel
1322Alex YoongMinardi/Asiatech671:32:14.0264 laps
(12)7Nick HeidfeldSauber/Petronas611:21:28.914Brakes
(5)14Jarno TrulliRenault601:18:44.669Engine
(14)8Felipe MassaSauber/Petronas4155:18.570Collision
(16)25Allan McNishToyota4054:31.481Spun off
(12)12Olivier PanisBAR/Honda2533:27.282Gearbox
(20)21Enrique BernoldiArrows/Cosworth1935:40.964Suspension


1Michael Schumacher24  10410
2Ralf Schumacher16  106
3Juan Pablo Montoya14  662
4Jenson Button6  33
5Kimi Räikkönen4  4
6David Coulthard4  4
7Eddie Irvine3  3
8Mark Webber2  2
9Nick Heidfeld2  2
10Mika Salo2  11
11Felipe Massa1  1
12Alex Yoong0  
13Allan McNish0  
14Pedro de la Rosa0  
15Jacques Villeneuve0  
16Takuma Sato0  
17Heinz-Harald Frentzen0  
18Giancarlo Fisichella0  
Jarno Trulli0  
Enrique Bernoldi0  
Rubens Barrichello0  
Anthony Davidson0     
Olivier Panis0  


1Williams/BMW30  6168
2Ferrari24  10410
3McLaren/Mercedes8  44
4Renault6  33
5Jaguar/Cosworth3  3
6Sauber/Petronas3  3
7Minardi/Asiatech2  2
8Toyota2  11

PHOTO GALLERY (Photo: Ferrari)

Load More Related Articles
Load More In History
Obavijesti me o
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

1999 Monaco GP – Schumacher and Irvine beat Hakkinen to lead Ferrari 1-2

Ferrari celebrated their first 1-2 victory of the 1999 F1 season in Monaco after Michael S…