Juan Pablo Montoya won his fourth and final race for the BMW Williams in 2004, after celebrating from the second place on the track in which he shocked Formula 1 world by overtaking Michael Schumacher in his third F1 appearance.

In the season in which Michael Schumacher and Ferrari trully dominated and won 12 of the first 13 races, Montoya executed a perfect farewell race  and secured victory for his Williams team in Brazil, the first of the season and the first since the 2003 German Grand Prix where the winner was also Montoya.

Williams will be waiting next F1 victory for nearly eight years, until 2012 Spanish GP where Pastor Maldonado won from pole position after beating Fernando Alonso in Ferrari.

Barrichello took pole position (1:10.646), 0.204 seconds ahead of Montoya and 0.246 seconds ahead of Raikkonen. Barrichello retired from the last nine races in Brazil although he had a chance to win several times.

The race started in damp conditions and drivers started on intermediate tyres, but race turned out to be a straight fight between Montoya and Raikkonen, future team-mates in McLaren in 2005.

Start of the 2004 Brazilian GP

The winner was Montoya after a tense pitstop fight, and Raikkonen finished one second behind the winner while Barrichello was third, 24 seconds behind and secured first podium on his home race.

Montoya took the fastest lap of the race (1:11.473), 0.089 seconds faster than Raikkonen, and this remained the fastest ever lap ever in the Interlagos race.

“It’s just incredible! The first laps were difficult because I lost a few positions until the tyres had been warmed up, but then I had more grip than the others,” Montoya said.

“The race was decided with a good strategy, Sam Michael called me in the pits for dry tyres at the right time.”

“Later, they made another good decision and called me when Kimi was behind me. They managed to get me out on the track ahead of him by just over a second.”

“I saw him behind me and I knew I could not make the slightest mistake! It’s fantastic to have such a good end to these four years in Williams BMW. I want to thank Frank and everyone in the team.”



1 3 J.P.Montoya Williams/BMW 71 1:28:01.451
2 6 Kimi Räikkönen McLaren/Mercedes 71 1:28:02.473 1.022
3 2 R.Barrichello Ferrari 71 1:28:25.550 24.099
4 8 Fernando Alonso Renault 71 1:28:50.359 48.908
5 4 Ralf Schumacher Williams/BMW 71 1:28:51.191 49.740
6 10 Takuma Sato BAR/Honda 71 1:28:51.699 50.248
7 1 M.Schumacher Ferrari 71 1:28:52.077 50.626
8 12 Felipe Massa Sauber/Petronas 71 1:29:03.761 1:02.310
9 11 G.Fisichella Sauber/Petronas 71 1:29:05.293 1:03.842
10 7 J.Villeneuve Renault 70 1:28:04.721 1 lap
11 5 David Coulthard McLaren/Mercedes 70 1:28:18.905 1 lap
12 16 Jarno Trulli Toyota 70 1:28:32.201 1 lap
13 17 Ricardo Zonta Toyota 70 1:28:56.280 1 lap
14 15 Christian Klien Jaguar/Cosworth 69 1:28:12.131 2 laps
15 19 Timo Glock Jordan/Ford 69 1:29:03.524 2 laps
16 21 Z.Baumgartner Minardi/Cosworth 67 1:28:02.126 4 laps
17 20 Gianmaria Bruni Minardi/Cosworth 67 1:28:18.523 4 laps
(11) 14 Mark Webber Jaguar/Cosworth 23 30:08.368 Collision
(17) 18 Nick Heidfeld Jordan/Ford 15 20:44.345 Clutch
(8) 9 Jenson Button BAR/Honda 3 4:21.354 Engine

RACE – Part 1

RACE – Part 2

Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2004 Japanese GP – Schumacher takes Suzuka pole and win on the same day

Michael Schumacher has taken a pole position and victory on this day in 2004 after a power…