Kimi Raikkonen won first F1 race in Turkey on this day in 2005 where he celebrated in front of Fernando Alonso in Renault and team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya who lost the second place in the final laps.

After 13 of the 19 races of the championship, Alonso had 26 points ahead of Raikkonen, but the Finn used speed advantage of his McLaren Mercedes MP4-20 and secured the pole position with a heavier car than two Renault drivers Fisichella and Alonso who started second and third. Montoya started fourth and completed the first two rows for McLaren and Renault.

Raikkonen lost a place to Fisichella in the first lap, but overtook him in the third sector of the same lap and clawed back the lead after his mistake. The Finn had no problems and secured the victory while Montoya was on his way to the second place before he eventually lost to Alonso as he spun while trying to overtake Monteiro who was one lap behind.

Fisichella finished fourth after starting from the second place and Button finished fifth, 1.4 behind the Fisichella, starting from 13th place due to his mistake in Turn 8 in qualifying.

Kimi Raikkonen Turkish GP F1 2005 Photo McLaren LAT
Raikkonen won his fifth race of the season in Turkey (Photo: LAT / McLaren)

Raikkonen led all the laps in the race while Montoya only took the fastest lap in which he was 0.260 seconds faster than him. After Turkey, Raikkonen reduced Alonso’s advantage to 24 points and McLaren was nine points behind Renault, five races before the end.

“I am very happy to have won the first Turkish GP, here we have come up with a strong basis thanks to the good work done at the factory which definitely made our weekend a lot easier,” said Raikkonen.

“I did not make the best of starts, because I had a wheelspin which allowed Fisichella to pass, but later he went wide to allow me to get the lead again. I pushed as much as I could but we knew our strategy would work so really after the first stops I could be safe. “

“I had a few moments with traffic which is always frustrating, but there is no doubt that our package is very fast. As a team we were a bit unhappy today for what happened to Juan Pablo because two points in the end could mean a lot.”

McLaren failed to clinch their first 1-2 of the season despite having the fastest car since fourth race of the season. They will achieve their first 1-2 in 2005 at the 18th race of the season in Brazil where Alonso will seal the title with third place.


19Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren/Mercedes1:26.797
35Fernando AlonsoRenault1:27.0500.2530.291
516Jarno TrulliToyota1:27.5010.7040.811
68Nick HeidfeldWilliams/BMW1:27.9291.1321.304
77Mark WebberWilliams/BMW1:27.9441.1471.321
812Felipe MassaSauber/Petronas1:28.4191.6221.869
917Ralf SchumacherToyota1:28.5941.7972.070
1015Christian KlienRed Bull/Cosworth1:28.9632.1662.495
1214David CoulthardRed Bull/Cosworth1:29.7642.9673.418
133Jenson ButtonBAR/Honda1:30.0633.2663.763
1418Tiago MonteiroJordan/Toyota1:30.7103.9134.508
1521Christijan AlbersMinardi/Cosworth1:32.1865.3896.209
1720Robert DoornbosMinardi/Cosworth
  10 place grid penalty due to engine change
  10 place grid penalty due to engine change
204Takuma SatoBAR/Honda
  Pitlane start due to Parc Ferme rules breach


19Kimi RäikkönenMcLaren/Mercedes581:24:34.454 
25Fernando AlonsoRenault581:24:53.06318.609
53Jenson ButtonBAR/Honda581:25:13.75839.304
616Jarno TrulliToyota581:25:29.87455.420
714David CoulthardRed Bull/Cosworth581:25:43.7501:09.296
815Christian KlienRed Bull/Cosworth581:25:46.0761:11.622
94Takuma SatoBAR/Honda581:26:24.4411:49.987
102R.BarrichelloFerrari571:24:37.4741 lap
1111J.VilleneuveSauber/Petronas571:25:08.0461 lap
1217Ralf SchumacherToyota571:25:08.6081 lap
1320Robert DoornbosMinardi/Cosworth551:24:48.9423 laps
1419N.KarthikeyanJordan/Toyota551:25:01.5513 laps
1518Tiago MonteiroJordan/Toyota551:25:15.0823 laps
(16)21Christijan AlbersMinardi/Cosworth481:19:07.025Withdrew
(14)8Nick HeidfeldWilliams/BMW2945:00.449Tyre
(11)12Felipe MassaSauber/Petronas2842:06.759Engine
(19)7Mark WebberWilliams/BMW2032:29.364Tyre

Fastest lap: Juan Pablo Montoya – 1:24.770 (lap 39)


1Fernando Alonso9561010108510108108
2Kimi Räikkönen7116101010861010
3Michael Schumacher5528248106348
4Juan Pablo Montoya4035  2421086
5Jarno Trulli3988461453
6Giancarlo Fisichella3510433555
7Ralf Schumacher3245533 2136
8Rubens Barrichello31816682
9Nick Heidfeld2863883
10Mark Webber244323642
11Jenson Button23  54644
12David Coulthard2153115222
13Felipe Massa8251
14Tiago Monteiro66
15Alexander Wurz6   6          
16Jacques Villeneuve651
17Narain Karthikeyan55
18Christian Klien521    11
19Christijan Albers44
20Pedro de la Rosa4  4           
21Patrick Friesacher33   
22Takuma Sato1  1
23Vitantonio Liuzzi1   1       
24Robert Doornbos0           
Anthony Davidson0             
Ricardo Zonta0             


6Red Bull/Cosworth27741115323
7BAR/Honda24  54654
Load More Related Articles
Load More In History
Obavijesti me o
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

2005 San Marino GP – Alonso holds off Schumacher in a thriller

On this day in 2005 Fernando Alonso won his third consecutive race of the 2005 F1 season i…