The first Abu Dhabi Grand Prix was held in 2009, the race after the Brazilian Grand Prix decided drivers’ and the constructors’ championship. Jenson Button, who has won six of the first seven races, became the tenth British champion in the history of Formula 1 and Brawn GP became the constructors’ champions.

This was the last race for Nico Rosberg in Williams F1 team where he made his debut in 2006. in Bahrain, as well as last race for Robert Kubica in the BMW Sauber who will drive for Renault in 2010.

It was also the last race for Nick Heidfeld who will not drive until Singapore Grand Prix 2010., Giancarlo Fisichella who drove for Ferrari since Italian GP) and Kazuki Nakajima (the only driver who has competed in all races of the season without scoring a point).

Pobjedničko postolje na prvoj VN Abu Dabija 2009. Slijeva nadesno: Mark Webber, Christian Horner, Sebastian Vettel i Jenson Button. (1.11.2009.) Foto: f1fanatic
Podium ceremony at the first Abu Dhabi GP: Mark Webber, Christian Horner, Sebastian Vettel and Jenson Button. (1.11.2009.) Foto: f1fanatic

Also, this was the last race for BMW (although name BMW Sauber remained in 2010. despite Sauber using the Ferrari engines), Toyota and Brawn (Mercedes bought 75.1% of shares and renamed the team in ‘Mercedes GP’).

This was the last time we saw refueling in the race (which returned in 1994.), and the last pitstop was carried out by Jarno Trulli and Toyota in lap 42.

Abu Dhabi GP 2009. is the last race for 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 scoring system that was introduced in 2003. From 2010. scoring system 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 will be introduced.

Also, it was the last race for the 245 mm wide front tires which are narrowed to 235 mm for 2010. Rear remained at 325 mm width.

Hamilton started from pole position, but Vettel jumped ahead of him after first stops thanks to bigger fuel load. Hamilton soon retired due to problems with the brakes, and Vettel had no problem to win with 17 seconds ahead of his team-mate Mark Webber.

It was Vettel’s fourth victory of the season as he secured second place in drivers’ championship, and also the fourth 1-2 for Red Bull because Webber was second every time Vettel won. Newly crowned world champion, Jenson Button in a Brawn GP, finished third ​​ahead of team-mate Rubens Barrichello.

Nick Heidfeld finished fifth in the last race for BMW Sauber and Kamui Kobayashi sixth for Toyota who scored points in his only second race in Formula 1 (in the first race in Brazil he finished ninth).

McLaren in Abu Dhabi secured third place in the constructors’ championship with one point more than Ferrari.

Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

First F1 race in Austin – Hamilton beats Vettel to victory

Lewis Hamilton won the first F1 race in Austin on this day in 2012 after he defeated Sebas…