Ferrari drivers Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc have set the highest top speeds on all parts of the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal and once again confirmed Ferrari SF90 domination in this area.

Vettel and Leclerc took the first two places at three out of four speed measurements, while at fourth measurement, at the end of the longest straight, Vettel was the fastest with Leclerc sixth.

Vettel, who set the best time in third sector, set the highest top speed at the end of the longest straight, 333.3 km/h, while Perez in the Racing Point, who stuck in Q1, was the second fastest with 330.9 km/h.

On his way to the best qualifying result in his new team (fourth place, Ricciardo also set the third highest speed on that part of the track (330.7 km/h), 2.2 km/h faster than his team mate Hulkenberg in ninth place.

During the weekend, the teams tried out various downforce settings to find settings for optimal laptime while maintaining a decent speed on the straights so they would not become an easy pray in the race.

In the end, almost everyone had top speeds between 325 and 330 km/h, with exactly 5 km/h difference between second placed Perez and 19th placed Kvyat (8.9 km/h between the first and the last).

Vettel was the fastest on all four speed measurements, but at the end of the first sector he had same speed as Leclerc. Interestingly, the third and fourth place were taken by the Renault drivers Ricciardo and Hulkenberg.

The fact that Hamilton was only 18th fastest on the longest straight might sound worrying for him, but he was only 3.2 km/h slower than sixt placed Leclerc so his speed is still fairly competitive. Bottas was the 12th fastest, 1.7 km/h faster than Hamilton.


2018 F1 Canadian GP track map Circuit Gilles Villeneuve


2019 Canadian GP F1 2019 top speeds qualifying Data FIA Edited by MAXF1net


2019 Canadian GP F1 2019 best sector times qualifying Data FIA Edited by MAXF1net

Load More In News


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2008 Turkish GP – Massa conquers Istanbul for the third time in a row

Felipe Massa celebrated for the third consecutive year in Turkey on this day in 2008 ahead…