Spanish GP, Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya, 9 May, 2021

2021 Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya Photo Formula1-com


Races 50 (1951 – 2020, Catalunya 30 (1991 – 2021), Jarama 9, Jerez 5, Montjuich 4, Pedralbes 2)
Laps 66
Circuit lenght 4675 m
Race distance 307.104 km
Fastest race lap 1:18.183 (Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes F1 W11, 2020)
Record lap 1:15.406 (Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes W09, Q3, 2019)

Note: Lap records refer to previous version of the circuit (2007-2020) – New 2021 version has different Turn 10 which is 20 m meters longer

STATS (after 2020)

Wins Michael Schumacher (6) Ferrari (12) Ferrari (12)
Pole positions Michael Schumacher (7) Ferrari (13) Ferrari (13)
Fastest laps Michael Schumacher (7) Ferrari (14) Ferrari (16)
Podium places Michael Schumacher (12) Ferrari (38) Ferrari (38)
Front row M. Schumacher and Hamilton (8) Ferrari (27) Ferrari (27)
Races led Michael Schumacher (10) Ferrari (26) Ferrari (26)
Kilometers led Michael Schumacher (1937) Ferrari (4149) Ferrari (4159)
Points Lewis Hamilton (180) Ferrari (467) Ferrari (567)
NOTE: Lap records, circuit lenght, number of laps and race distance refer to latest track configuration, other stats refer to all Spanish GPs


1st free practice Fri 11:30
2nd free practice Fri 15:00
3rd free practice Sat 12:00
Qualifying Sat 15:00
Race Sun 15:00
All times are track times for that location. You can switch to your timezone () below. Time on trackYour local time


juan manuel fangio alfa romeo 159 pedralbes spanish gp 1959
Juan Manuel Fangio in Alfa Romeo 159 was the winner of the first Spanish GP which was held on Pedralbes circuit (28 October,1951) Photo: f1history
Prva VN Španjolske održana na brzoj, ali i opasnoj stazi Montjuic. U prvom planu je Jack Brabham u Brabham Fordu ispred Jackie Stewarta u Matri Ford koji je kasnije i pobijedio u utrci. (4.5.1969.) Foto: reddit
Jack Brabham leads Jackie Stewart in first Spanish GP held on fast, but dangerous Monjuic circuit (4 May, 1969) Photo: reddit
niki lauda james hunt spanish gp jarama f1 1976
Niki Lauda leads James Hunt in first Spanish GP on Jarama circuit – Hunt won the race in front of his title rival Lauda (2 May, 1976) Photo: ESPN
gilles villeneuve spanish gp f1 1981
Gilles Villeneuve brilliantly held four quicker drivers to win Spanish GP 1981. (2 June, 1981) Photo: Ferrari
ayrton senna nigel mansell jerez spanish gp 1986 finish line
Ayrton Senna (Lotus) was just 0.014 s quicker than Nigel Mansell over race distance in first Spanish GP in Jerez 1986. (13 April, 1986) Photo: Williams
Nigel Mansell and Ayrton Senna spanish gp 1991 catalunya battle
Mansell and Senna fighting for the lead at first Spanish GP in Catalunya (29 September, 1991) Photo: McLaren
michael schumacher ferrari f310 spanish gp catalunya wet win
Michael Schumacher won his first race for Ferrari in dominant fashion by outclassing everyone at wet Circuit the Catalunya (2 June, 1996) Photo: Ferrari
maldonado alonso raikkonen spanish gp f1 2012 podium
Pastor Maldonado won his first and only Formula 1 race in Barcelona 2012. in front of two world champions Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen (13 May, 2012) Photo: Pirelli
Rosberg won his first race in 2015 in Spain after beating Hamilton in qualifying and dominated the race (10 May, 2015) Photo: Mercedes
Hamilton i Rosberg Spain GP F1 2016 chrash at turn 4
Hamilton and Rosberg colided in Spain after just three corners (29 May, 2016) Photo: LAT
Hamilton Vettel Spain F1 2017 Foto XPB
Hamilton chased and passed Vettel on alternative strategy to win the 2017 Spanish GP (May 14, 2017) Photo: XPB
Spanish GP F1 2018 start first corner Photo Daimler Hamilton Vettel Bottas Raikkonen
Hamilton led from pole position to win 2018 Spanish GP in front of his team mate Bottas (13 May, 2018) Photo: Daimler
2019 Spanish GP start Photo Daimler
Hamilton took the lead from Bottas at the start and led every lap of the 2019 Spanish GP to seal his third victory of the season (12 May, 2019) Photo: Daimler

Recent results

Year Winner Pole position Fastest lap
2019 Lewis Hamilton Valtteri Bottas Daniel Ricciardo
2018 Lewis Hamilton Lewis Hamilton Daniel Ricciardo
2017 Lewis Hamilton Lewis Hamilton Lewis Hamilton
2016 Max Verstappen Lewis Hamilton Daniil Kvyat
2015 Nico Rosberg Nico Rosberg Lewis Hamilton