Dutch GP, Zandvoort, 4 September 2022

Races 30 (1952 – 1985)
Laps 72
Circuit lenght 4259 m
Race distance 306.648 km
Fastest race lap
Record lap

STATS (after 1985)

Wins Jim Clark (4) Ferrari (8) Ford (10)
Pole positions Rene Arnoux (3) Lotus (8) Ferrari and Ford (7)
Fastest laps Jim Clark (5) Ferrari (10) Ferrari (10)
Podium places Clark i Lauda (6) Ferrari (24) Ferrari and Ford (24)
Front row Graham Hill (7) Lotus (16) Ford (17)
Races led Jim Clark (6) Lotus and Ferrari (11) Ford (12)
Points Jim Clark (1551) Lotus (2583) Ford (3126)
Wins Niki Lauda (46) Ferrari (191) Ford (219)


1st free practice Fri 11:30
2nd free practice Fri 15:00
3rd free practice Sat 12:00
Qualifying Sat 15:00
Race Sun 15:00
All times are track times for that location. You can switch to your timezone () below. Time on trackYour local time

The Zandvoort track was built, like Silverstone, in 1948 when, after World War II, motorsport euphoria spread through Europe, and the Dutch Grand Prix first found its way into the F1 calendar in 1952 when Alberto Ascari led the 1-2-3 victory for Ferrari in the year of his first championship title.

The Netherlands has been a part of the calendar 30 times in its F1 history, all on the Zandvoort track, and from 1952 to 1985 it was only three times absent from the calendar (1954, 1956 and 1957). With its 30 races, the Netherlands is in 15th place in terms of the number of races held – top spots are held by United Kingdom (73), Italy (71) and Monaco (67).

The first version of the track, which held 17 races from 1952 to 1972, was 4193 meters long, and the second version ran six races from 1973 to 1978. Changes to the second version of the track, which was extended to 4226 meters, include replacing the fast chicane Stalenveld with a slower Panoramabocht.

In 1979, the track was further slowed down by the chicane behind the Hodenvlak corner and in 1980 the Hodenvlak bend was thrown out and replaced by the Marlborobocht chicane – this version of the track was used until the last race in 1985.

Compared to the 1985 version of the track, Turns 3 and 14 (named after former track director John Hugenholtz and Dutch driver Arie Luyendyk) are now banked by a whopping 18 degrees, twice as much as the banked corner in Indianapolis, which will increase speeds and energy going through tyres.

The last corner (14) will be full throttle blast with a lateral acceleration of more than 4g, and although the corner is designed so that modern F1 cars can pass it at full throttle with the DRS open, the FIA ​​did not want to risk in the first edition of the race on the new track so the DRS will be activated after the last corner.

In addition to the DRS zone at the start-finish line, whose detection point is before the Turn 13, the track has another DRS zone between Turns 10 and 11 and its detection point is located before the Turn 10.

Two big braking zones, on which drivers will decelerate with an intensity greater than 5g, are located before the Turn 1 and 11, at the end of the two DRS zones. The Turn 7 is another corner in which drivers will be under heavy lateral loads (greater than 5g) at more than 260 km/h, followed by Turns 8 and 9 in which the lateral accelerations are also very high.

Due to all these factors, and the fact that this is the first race on the new track configuration, Pirelli opted for the three hardest dry tyre compounds (C1, C2 and C3) which they used only three times in the first 12 races this season (Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom).

The track is located near the sand dunes next to the beach so the wind sometimes puts sand on the track which affects grip which is a problem that teams usually encounter on the track in Bahrain.


The first Dutch GP was held in 1948 on the new Zandvoort track located along the sandy beach, which consisted of a combination of a permanent race track and public roads, and was celebrated by Prince Bira of Thailand in Maserati. In 1950 and 1951 races were won by Louis Rosier and at the first Dutch Grand Prix in the F1 calendar in 1952 celebrated Alberto Ascari in a triple victory for Ferrari and Ascari also took the victory in 1953, in the years of winning his two championship titles.

After one year of absence from F1 calendar for Dutch Grand Prix in 1954, Juan Manuel Fangio celebrated in 1955 in his dominant season with Mercedes when he won his third championship title and in 1956 and 1957 the race was again not in the F1 calendar.

Moss celebrated at the next Dutch Grand Prix in 1958 for Vanwall and Jo Bonier won in 1959 driving for BRM. Jack Brabham celebrated in 1960 in the year of winning his second of three titles for Cooper Climax and Wolfgang von Trips gave Ferrari its third victory in the Netherlands in 1961 after Ascari’s victories in 1952 and 1953.

Graham Hill won the 1962 Dutch Grand Prix, the first race of that season in which he won the first of two championship titles, and Jim Clark celebrated for three years in a row (1963, 1964 and 1965) driving the Lotus 25 and 33.

In the year of winning his third title in 1966, Brabham again celebrated at the Dutch Grand Prix, and in 1967 Clark achieved his fourth victory in the Netherlands in the last five years behind the wheel of a Lotus 49.

Three-time world champion Jackie Stewart won for Matra in 1968 and 1969 and posthumous champion from 1970 Jochen Rindt also celebrated that season at Zandvoort while in 1971Jacky Ickx won a wet race for Ferrari ahead of Pedro Rodriguez in BRM – all other drivers were at least a lap down.

In 1972 the Dutch Grand Prix was absent from the F1 calendar and Stewart took another victory on a new version of the 1973 track for Tyrrell, in the year of winning his third and final title. Niki Lauda achieved his second career victory at the 1974 Grand Prix, adding to that a triumph on the same track in 1977, and his 1976 title rival James Hunt won in 1975 and 1976.

Mario Andretti celebrated in 1978 in the last race on the second version of the track, the year he won his only championship title, and Alan Jones achieved his fourth career victory at the 1979 Dutch Grand Prix for Williams, the only race to be held on the third version of Zandvoort.

Nelson Piquet won the first race on the fourth version of the track in 1980, which was used until the last race in the Netherlands in 1985, and Alain Prost won for Renault in 1981, which was his second victory of his career and the second of that season.

In the last four races held at Zandvoort Ferrari won twice (Pironi 1982 and Arnoux 1983) while McLaren took victories in the last two races in Netherlands (Prost 1984 and Lauda 1985).

Recent results

Year Winner Pole position Fastest lap
1985 Niki Lauda Nelson Piquet Alain Prost
1984 Alain Prost Alain Prost Rene Arnoux
1983 Rene Arnoux Nelson Piquet Rene Arnoux
1982 Didier Pironi Rene Arnoux Derek Warwick
1981 Alain Prost Alain Prost Alan Jones