Brazil 2006. – Alonso becomes double world champion, Schumacher’s last race for Ferrari

Renault F1 team Brazil F1 2006 foto f1fansite

Fernando Alonso won his second consecutive drivers’ championship on 22nd October 2006. when he finished second behind race winner Felipe Massa while his title rival Michael Schumacher finished fourth.

Alonso had ten points lead over Michael Schumacher before the final race of the championship after hearthbreaking engine failure in Suzuka and needed only one point in the case Michael won the race.

Michael had problem in qualifying and started 10th and dropped to 19th after small contact with Fisichella punctured his tyre. Seven time world champion had a brilliant comeback though and fought back to fourth place in his last race for Ferrari.

Felipe Massa won the race, first time on his home soil, and Kimi Raikkonen drove his last race for McLaren.

Fernando Alonso finished second and won the title with 13 points more than Michael Schumacher and Renault won second consecutive title, just five points ahead of Ferrari.


Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

First F1 race in Austin – Hamilton beats Vettel to victory

Lewis Hamilton won the first F1 race in Austin on this day in 2012 after he defeated Sebas…