On this day in 1999, Rubens Barrichello led his home race at Interlagos, but Ford V10 engine did not survive and race was won by Hakkinen who previously had problems with the gearbox.

After the first race of the season in Australia, where both McLaren retired from leading position due to a engine and hydraulics failures and Michael Schumacher finished eighth, silver cars were again leading the pack from the front row.

Brazilian GP F1 1999 podium Hakkinen Schumacher Frentzen Foto Twitter
Hakkinen, Schumacher i Frentzen on the podium for the 1999 Brazilian GP (Photo: Twitter)

Hakkinen took the pole position (1:16.558), 0.147 seconds ahead of Coulthard, 0.737 seconds ahead of Barrichello in Stewart Ford and 1.010 seconds ahead of Michael Schumacher in Ferrari.

Coulthard stalled on the grid and couldn’t continue while Hakkinen took the lead ahead of Barrichello and Schumacher. Finn was two seconds ahead of Brazilian and almost four seconds ahead of Schumacher at the end of lap three, but then he had some gearbox issues which enabled Barrichello and Schumacher to overtake him easily.

Hakkinen soon resumed with his chase with four seconds behind the leading Barrichello who entered the pits in lap 27 when it became obvious he was on a two stop strategy.

Schumacher entered the pits in lap 38, while Barrichello retired in lap 42 from the third place due to an engine failure. Hakkinen pitted in the same lap and returned in front of Schumacher and then nursed his McLaren home to clinch his 10th victory in his F1 career.

Frentzen finished third in Jordan and latter became an unlikely tittle contender after Schumacher broke his leg in Silverstone and Hakkinen lost a lot of points due to mechanical failures and odd mistakes when leading in Imola and Monza.


11Mika HäkkinenMcLaren/Mercedes721:36:03.785 
38H-H.FrentzenJordan/Mugen-Honda711:35:56.8771 lap
46Ralf SchumacherWilliams/Supertec711:36:22.8601 lap
54Eddie IrvineFerrari711:36:23.1031 lap
618Olivier PanisProst/Peugeot711:37:13.3681 lap
710Alexander WurzBenetton/Playlife701:36:12.0212 laps
815T.TakagiArrows691:36:10.0723 laps
921Marc GenéMinardi/Ford691:37:02.1163 laps
(8)14Pedro de la RosaArrows521:12:15.709Hydraulics
(7)12Pedro DinizSauber/Petronas4257:37.329Collision
(11)20S.SarrazinMinardi/Ford3142:50.145Spun off
(9)11Jean AlesiSauber/Petronas2737:15.031Gearbox
(18)2David CoulthardMcLaren/Mercedes2234:20.981Gearbox
(18)19Jarno TrulliProst/Peugeot2130:20.768Gearbox
(19)17Johnny HerbertStewart/Ford1522:57.879Hydraulics
(20)7Damon HillJordan/Mugen-Honda1014:17.096Collision

Fastest lap: Mika Hakkinen: 1:18.488 (lap 70)

Leaders: 3 (Hakkinen 38 laps, Barrichello 23, Schumacher 11)

Top speed: Hakkinen (311.6 km/h)

Pitstops: 27

Overtakes: 26


1Eddie Irvine12
2Mika Häkkinen10
3Heinz-Harald Frentzen10
4Ralf Schumacher7


1 Ferrari 18
2 McLaren/Mercedes 10
3 Jordan/Mugen-Honda 10
4 Williams/Supertec 7
Load More Related Articles
Load More In History
Obavijesti me o
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

1999 Monaco GP – Schumacher and Irvine beat Hakkinen to lead Ferrari 1-2

Ferrari celebrated their first 1-2 victory of the 1999 F1 season in Monaco after Michael S…