Lewis Hamilton won his first pole position this season after tense qualifying session for the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix and Sergio Perez was slower by just 0.035 seconds and finished ahead of teammate Max Verstappen.

Hamilton was the fastest after the first Q3 attempts, 0.091 ahead of Verstappen, and Perez was third ahead of Norris, Leclerc and Bottas.

But Perez got very close to Hamilton in the second lap and overtook Verstappen while Norris had his lap deleted with the two fastest sectors with which he had second place behind Hamilton.

Hamilton, Perez and Verstappen are followed by Leclerc in Ferrari, Gasly in AlphaTauri and McLaren drivers Ricciardo and Norris while Bottas was only eighth in second Mercedes ahead of Ocon and Stroll.

Sainz was only 11th behind Ferrari ahead of Russell at Williams and Vettel at Aston Martin who were again slower than Stroll, and Latifi at second Williams was faster than Alonso at Alpine.

For Hamilton, this was his first pole position since the 2020 Bahrain GP and 99th in his F1 career.

In the first part of the qualifying, Tsunoda lost control of his AlphaTauri AT02 over the curb in the Variante Alta chicane, crashed with his rear end into the wall and severely damaged his car, which ended his qualifying performance after only six minutes.

This caused a red flag, and the time until the end of Q1 stood at 12 minutes and one second before the stewards removed his badly damaged AlphaTauri AT02.

Practice resumed after eight minutes, at a time when only five drivers had set their times, and drivers hurried to the track on soft tyres to set their first times as soon as possible.

Bottas was fastest in Q1 with a time of 1:14.672, 0.283 seconds ahead of Hamilton and 0.337 seconds ahead of Norris while Verstappen was fourth for Red Bull with 0.437 seconds behind.

Apart from Tsunoda, Alfa Romeo drivers Raikkonen and Giovinazzi and drivers Haasa Schumacher and Mazepin got stuck in Q1, while for the first time since the 2020 Hungarian GP, ​​both Williams drivers passed in Q2.

Perez was the fastest in Q2 ahead of Norris, Leclerc, Hamilton, Verstappen, Bottas, Gasly, Ricciardo, Ocon and Stroll until Sainz, Russell, Vettel, Latifi and Alonso advanced to the final of qualifying.

Only drivers of Mercedes Hamilton and Bottas and Verstappen in Red Bull managed to pass in Q3 on medium tires on which they will start tomorrow’s race, while drivers outside the top ten will have the freedom to choose the tyre compound.

The race is scheduled at 15:oo local time.


1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.411
2 11 Sergio Pérez Red Bull/Honda 1:14.446 0.035
3 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Honda 1:14.498 0.087
4 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:14.740 0.329
5 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri/Honda 1:14.790 0.379
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren/Mercedes 1:14.826 0.415
7 4 Lando Norris McLaren/Mercedes 1:14.875 0.464
8 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:14.898 0.487
9 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine/Renault 1:15.210 0.799
10 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin/Mercedes
11 55 Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 1:15.199 0.788
12 63 George Russell Williams/Mercedes 1:15.261 0.850
13 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin/Mercedes 1:15.394 0.983
14 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams/Mercedes 1:15.593 1.182
15 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine/Renault 1:15.593 1.182
16 7 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1:15.974 1.563
17 99 A.Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1:16.122 1.711
18 47 Mick Schumacher Haas/Ferrari 1:16.279 1.868
19 9 Nikita Mazepin Haas/Ferrari 1:16.797 2.386
20 22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri/Honda
Load More In News


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2008 Turkish GP – Massa conquers Istanbul for the third time in a row

Felipe Massa celebrated for the third consecutive year in Turkey on this day in 2008 ahead…