On this day in 1999, Michael Schumacher won his first race of the season in Imola after Mika Hakkinen crashed from the leading position in lap 18 when he had 13 seconds advantage over his team mate David Coulthard.

Irvine celebrated in the first race in Australia, Hakkinen bounced back in Brazil, but Frentzen was second and third and third in the championship.

McLaren drivers locked out the front row for the third time in a row in 1999. when Hakkinen won another pole in front of Coulthard and Schumacher who was only 0.176 seconds behind Hakkinen.

But when lights went out, it was not that close because Hakkinen pulled out an incredible lead, increasing it almost for a second per lap. Finn had 13.4 seconds in front of Coulthard and 16.9 seconds ahead of Schumacher, but at the end of lap 17 Hakkinen crashed in the final chicane and retired immediately.

Hakkinen Imola 1999 Daniele Amaduzzi photo
Photo: Daniele Amaduzzi

Coulthard took the lead, but Schumacher was first to pit due to his two stop strategy. German driver continued to drive very fast on lighter fuel load and fresh tyres and managed to pull out 22 seconds lead to get ahead of one stopping Coulthard.

It was first victory for Ferrari in San Marino GP since 1983. and first in 1999. Coulthard finished second and Barrichello in Sewart third. Only 11 drivers were classified at the end of the race from 22 starts.

“We were fast during the whole weekend so it seems that we managed to close a gap a little bit,” said Schumacher after the race.

“But we still need to develop the car to be really fastest of all. We are leading both championships which is a lot better than last year.”

Schumacher was leading the championship with 16 points, Irvine had 12 and Hakkinen and Frentzen 10. Ferrari led the constructors with 28 points, McLaren had 16 and Jordan 13.

It was also 100th race for Sauber team.


11Mika HäkkinenMcLaren/Mercedes1:26.362
22David CoulthardMcLaren/Mercedes1:26.3840.022
44Eddie IrvineFerrari1:26.9930.631
87Damon HillJordan/Mugen-Honda1:27.7081.346
96Ralf SchumacherWilliams/Supertec1:27.7701.408
1118Olivier PanisProst/Peugeot1:28.2051.843
1217Johnny HerbertStewart/Ford1:28.2461.884
1311Jean AlesiSauber/Petronas1:28.2531.891
1419Jarno TrulliProst/Peugeot1:28.4032.041
1512Pedro DinizSauber/Petronas1:28.5992.237
1710Alexander WurzBenetton/Playlife1:28.7652.403
1814Pedro de la RosaArrows1:29.2932.931
1923Mika SaloBAR/Supertec1:29.4513.089
2121Marc GenéMinardi/Ford1:30.0353.673
2220Luca BadoerMinardi/Ford1:30.9454.583


22David CoulthardMcLaren/Mercedes621:33:49.0574.265
316R.BarrichelloStewart/Ford611:33:46.7211 lap
47Damon HillJordan/Mugen-Honda611:33:47.6291 lap
59G.FisichellaBenetton/Playlife611:34:27.0021 lap
611Jean AlesiSauber/Petronas611:34:33.0561 lap
723Mika SaloBAR/Supertec591:32:08.0963 laps
820Luca BadoerMinardi/Ford591:33:53.3443 laps
921Marc GenéMinardi/Ford591:34:16.1123 laps
1017Johnny HerbertStewart/Ford581:29:37.619Engine
115A.ZanardiWilliams/Supertec581:29:45.043Spun off
(12)12Pedro DinizSauber/Petronas491:19:53.188Spun off
(10)18Olivier PanisProst/Peugeot481:15:55.648Throttle
(3)4Eddie IrvineFerrari461:09:57.831Engine
(4)8H-H.FrentzenJordan/Mugen-Honda461:10:27.090Spun off
(15)15T.TakagiArrows2946:16.071Fuel pressure
(4)6Ralf SchumacherWilliams/Supertec2842:52.208Throttle
(1)1Mika HäkkinenMcLaren/Mercedes1725:25.912Spun off
(17)14Pedro de la RosaArrows58:00.812Spun off
(18)10Alexander WurzBenetton/Playlife58:01.536Spun off
 19Jarno TrulliProst/Peugeot0Spun off

Fastest lap: Michael Schumacher – 1:28.547 (lap 45)


1Michael Schumacher16  610
2Eddie Irvine12  102
3Mika Häkkinen10  10
4Heinz-Harald Frentzen10  64
5Ralf Schumacher7  43
6David Coulthard6  6
7Rubens Barrichello6  24
8Giancarlo Fisichella5  32
9Damon Hill3  3
10Pedro de la Rosa1  1
11Olivier Panis1  1
12Jean Alesi1  1


1Ferrari28  10810
2McLaren/Mercedes16   106
3Jordan/Mugen-Honda13  643
4Williams/Supertec7  43
5Stewart/Ford6  24
6Benetton/Playlife5  32
7Arrows1  1
7Prost/Peugeot1   1
7Sauber/Petronas1    1
Load More Related Articles
Load More In History
Obavijesti me o
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

1998 Canadian GP – Schumacher celebrates, McLaren duo retires

On this day in 1998, Michael Schumacher celebrated in the seventh race of the season in Ca…