Japan 1990. – Senna gets his revenge on Prost to win his second title

senna mclaren prost ferrari formula 1 1990 japanese gp suzuka

Grand Prix of Japan in 1990. was as controversial as the previous edition of this race. Senna and Prost were again leading the championship, just like in previous two years. Two greatest drivers of their generation dominated in Formula 1 in the last few years – they won 37 of 46 races ahead of the Japanese Grand Prix in 1990.

Senna had a nine points advantage, but two wins in the last two races would be enough for the the Frenchman to become world champion, even if Ayrton finished second on both occasions. In that case, Prost would have won the title with the same number of points but with one more victory. The situation almost identical to last year, but in reverse roles.

Senna won the pole position with three tenths advantage over Prost’s Ferrari. The Brazilian asked FIA to move pole position to the left side where the track was cleaner (racing line), which was approved at first, but the president of the FIA ​​Jean Marie Balestre returned things to the initial state. Pole position remained on the dirty, right side of the grid that leads to the inside of the first corner. Frustrated Senna said, just like Prost last year, that will not move if Prost tries to pass him into the first corner – ‘This year it has to be my way’, said Senna before the race.

Prost started better and took the lead from Senna, but powerful Honda engine allowed Senna to reduce the gap until the first bend. The Frenchman returned to the racing line, Senna was holding inside line and crashed into the rear end of his Ferrari.

Both drivers retired but Senna became the world champion for the second time. FIA did not intervene after the race, just like the year before when Prost blocked Senna at the last moment. Angry Prost later described Senna as ‘worthless man’. The race was won by Nelson Piquet in a Benetton in front of team mate Robert Morena and Agurija Suzuki in Lola Lamborghini. For Moreno and Suzuki that were their only podium finishes in their F1 careers.

Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2008 Turkish GP – Massa conquers Istanbul for the third time in a row

Felipe Massa celebrated for the third consecutive year in Turkey on this day in 2008 ahead…