Lando Norris got his first victory in Formula 1 in his 110th race with a sensational drive and with a bit of luck due to the safety car and beat Max Verstappen by more than seven seconds while Charles Leclerc finished third for Ferrari.

Norris started fifth on medium tyres and stayed the longest on the track and drove a series of impressive laps with which he was faster than Verstappen on the new hard, and when the safety car came out on the track due to the Magnussen and Sargeant incident, Norris got an opportunity that he wouldn’t miss.

When the race resumed at the end of the lap 32, Norris had no problem sprinting away from Verstappen by more than a second and by the end of the race he was only increasing his advantage on his way to his first victory.

Verstappen kept the lead at the start of the race, Leclerc had a bad start, and Perez had a great start, which he used to try to make up positions by braking late on the inside of the first turn.

But Perez missed the braking point and almost hit Verstappen, forcing him to cut the corner and blocking the inside line.

Piastri got off to a great start, surged on the outside of Turn 1 and made his way to third place behind Verstappen and Leclerc, and after a few laps he managed to overtake the Ferrari driver and take second place.

Verstappen was not able to escape to the usual advantage, but Piastri kept up well and was less than three seconds behind after twenty laps.

Perez held off Norris and pitted first from the leaders, switching to medium hard, and Leclerc did the same two laps later.

Verstappen picked up a cone at the top of Turn 15 on Lap 20 and brought it onto the straight after Turn 16 which prompted Virtual Safety Car conditions on Lap 23, but the Dutchman failed to take advantage of them and make the tyre change he did during the green flag .

Piastri and Sainz pitted four laps later which left Norris in the lead, and although he was on significantly worn tyres it didn’t stop him from being the fastest man on track.

Then came the pivotal moment of the race with Magnussen and Sargeant colliding at turn two which brought out the safety car, and Norris made the change from medium to hard and began to build a lead when the race restarted at the end of lap 32.

In the end, Norris won with 7.6 seconds ahead of Verstappen and returned the title of the driver with the most podiums without a win to Nick Heidfeld (13 podiums), and Leclerc finished third with 9.9 behind Norris.

Sainz had a heated battle with Piastri in which Piastri damaged his front wing, had to pit and fell to the back, and Sainz managed to finish fourth.

Perez could not do better than fifth place in the second Red Bull, and Hamilton was sixth after starting on hard tyres and late pressure on Perez, which did not bear fruit.

Tsunoda scored a valuable six points for RB in seventh place, moving him to tenth in the drivers’ standings, with Russell eighth in the Mercedes.

Alonso was able to overtake Ocon in the closing stages of the race for ninth place, but Ocon can be pleased to have scored the final point of today’s race, Alpine’s first of the season.

The next race will be held in Imola in two weeks.


14Lando NorrisMcLaren/Mercedes571:30’49.876
21Max VerstappenRed Bull/Honda RBPT571:30’57.4887.612
316Charles LeclercFerrari571:30’59.7969.92
411Sergio PérezRed Bull/Honda RBPT571:31’04.52614.65
555Carlos SainzFerrari571:31’06.28316.407
5 sekundi kazne zbog incidenta s Piastrijem
644Lewis HamiltonMercedes571:31’06.46116.585
722Yuki TsunodaRB/Honda RBPT571:31’16.06126.185
863George RussellMercedes571:31’24.66534.789
914Fernando AlonsoAston Martin/Mercedes571:31’26.98337.107
1031Esteban OconAlpine/Renault571:31’29.62239.746
1127Nico HülkenbergHaas/Ferrari571:31’30.66540.789
1210Pierre GaslyAlpine/Renault571:31’34.83444.958
1381Oscar PiastriMcLaren/Mercedes571:31’39.63249.756
1424Zhou GuanyuSauber/Ferrari571:31’39.85549.979
153Daniel RicciardoRB/Honda RBPT571:31’40.83250.956
1677Valtteri BottasSauber/Ferrari571:31’42.23252.356
1718Lance StrollAston Martin/Mercedes571:31’45.04955.173
10 sekundi kazne zbog napuštanja granica staze i stjecanja prednosti
1823Alexander AlbonWilliams/Mercedes571:32’05.9671’16.091
1920Kevin MagnussenHaas/Ferrari571:32’14.5591’24.683
10 sekundi kazne zbog incidenta sa Sargeantom
20 sekundi kazne zbog ulaska u boks za vrijeme SC-a bez promjene guma
-182Logan SargeantWilliams/Mercedes2743’03.540Sudar

Fastest lap: Oscar Piastri – 1:30.634 (lap 43)


1Max Verstappen1362625263326
2Sergio Pérez103181810182118
3Charles Leclerc98121619121722
4Lando Norris838415102125
5Carlos Sainz831525151414
6Oscar Piastri4141212463
7George Russell37108694
8Fernando Alonso332104872
9Lewis Hamilton2762298
10Yuki Tsunoda14617
11Lance Stroll918
12Oliver Bearman66
13Nico Hülkenberg61212
14Daniel Ricciardo55
15Esteban Ocon11
16Kevin Magnussen11
17Alexander Albon0
18Zhou Guanyu0
19Pierre Gasly0
20Valtteri Bottas0
21Logan Sargeant0


1Red Bull/Honda RBPT239444310445444
5Aston Martin/Mercedes4231012872
6RB/Honda RBPT196112
Load More Related Articles
Load More In News
Obavijesti me o
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

2024 F1 Monaco GP – Leclerc finally wins his home race after early red flag

Charles Leclerc took his first win of the season and first at his home race after a domina…