Kimi Raikkonen has written a new page in the history of Formula 1 at Silverstone after starting on the same track for the 20th time and thus becoming the first driver in F1 history to start on the same track 20 times.

Raikkonen made his Formula One debut in 2001 at Sauber, who finished fourth in the constructors’ standings that year, and after finishing in sixth place in the first race of the season in Australia, the Finn defeated his more experienced teammate Heidfeld at Silverstone in both qualifying and the race.

The following year he moved to McLaren instead of Hakkinen and that year he recorded the first of only two non-finishes on that track after starting from fifth place and in the next four years in the same team Raikkonen recorded four consecutive podiums and one pole position (2004).

The Finn moved to Ferrari in 2007 and achieved his first and only victory on this track, in the year in which he won his only world title, which was his fifth consecutive podium on this track, and in 2008 and 2009 he finished fourth and eighth.

After a two-year break outside F1 (2010 and 2011), Raikkonen drove for Lotus in 2012 and 2013, in which he achieved two fifth places at Silverstone, and in 2014 he returned to the then uncompetitive Ferrari and retired, only second time on this track.

The Finn secured his last two podiums at Silverstone in 2017 and 2018 while in 2019 he moved to Alfa Romeo and finished eighth on this track. In 2020, there were two races at Silverstone, which he finished in 17th and 15th place, and in last weekend’s race the Finn finished 15th after contact with Perez in the Turn 7.


Year Car Engine Start Finish
2001 Sauber Ferrari 7 5
2002 McLaren Mercedes 5 DNF
2003 McLaren Mercedes 3 3
2004 McLaren Mercedes 1 2
2005 McLaren Mercedes 12 3
2006 McLaren Mercedes 2 3
2007 Ferrari Ferrari 2 1
2008 Ferrari Ferrari 3 4
2009 Ferrari Ferrari 9 8
2012 Lotus Renault 6 5
2013 Lotus Renault 8 5
2014 Ferrari Ferrari 18 DNF
2015 Ferrari Ferrari 5 8
2016 Ferrari Ferrari 5 5
2017 Ferrari Ferrari 2 3
2018 Ferrari Ferrari 3 3
2019 Alfa Romeo Ferrari 12 8
2020 Alfa Romeo Ferrari 16 17
2020 Alfa Romeo Ferrari 20 15
2021 Alfa Romeo Ferrari 13 15


Wins: 1/20

Podium finishes: 7/20

Point finished: 15/20

Classified: 18/20

Load More Related Articles
Load More In News


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2009 Belgian GP – Fisichella gets pole, but Raikkonen wins for Ferrari

2009 Belgian Grand Prix was a great race with very tight qualifying, a surprising man on t…