The fourth race of the WEC superseason 2018/2019 was shifted for a week for Fernando Alonso to have no overlap with the F1 race for the US GP in Austin.

Alonso will also drive for Toyota in the 2018/2019 WEC superseason Championship in the LMP1 category in order to compete at 24h Le Mans and try to get closer to the Triple Crown of motorsport.

Although Alonso was confirmed for four of the five WEC championships in 2018, the 6h Fuji race organizers demanded a date change for double world champion to avoid overlapping with the US GP in Austin on October 21st.

The race on Fiji was supposed to be held on 14 October, but the WEC changed the term to 21 October to avoid overlapping with the Petit Le Mans race in the IMSA Championship in the United States.

But after confirming that Alonso will compete in all WEC championships in 2018, besides Fuji, the organizers of the race asked to return to the old date – 14 October.

The Petit Le Mans race of the IMSA Championships is a 10-hour endurance race and many WEC drivers were planning to compete.

The decision to move the WEC race in Fuji because of F1 superstar Fernando Alonso will frustrate those drivers, including Toyota’s Mike Conway, who drives the #7 Toyota (Alonso drives #8). Some of the drivers who planned to attendt this race were Bruno Senna from Rebellion, Renger van der Zande from DragonSpeed, Harry Tincknell and Olivier Pla from Ford and several drivers of BMW’s GTE factory team.

Alonso will contest 26 races in 2018 – 21 races in Formula 1 with McLaren and five WEC championship races with Toyota, including 24h Le Mans scheduled on 16 June, weekend between Canadian and French GP.


5 May 2018 Spa-Francorchamps 
16 June 2018 Le Mans 24h 
19 August 2018 Silverstone 
14 October 2018 Fuji 
18 November 2018 Shanghai 
16 March 2019 Sebring 
4 May 2019 Spa-Francorchamps 
15 June 2019 Le Mans 24h 

Note: All WEC races last 6 hours except 24h Le Mans


01 F1 Australia 25 March
02 F1 Bahrain 08 April
03 F1 China 15 April
04 F1 Azerbaijan 29 April
05 WEC Spa  05 May
06 F1 Spain 13 May
07 F1 Monaco 27 May
08 F1 Canada 10 June
09 WEC Le Mans 24h 16 June
10 F1 France 24 June
11 F1 Austrija 01 July
12 F1 Great Britain 08 July
13 F1 Germany 22 July
14  F1 Hungary 29 July
15 WEC Silverstone 19 August
16 F1 Belgium 26 July
17 F1 Italy 02 September
18 F1 Singapore 16 September
19 F1 Russia 30 September
20 F1 Japan 07 October
21 WEC Fuji 14 October
22 F1 USA 21 October
23 F1 Mexico 28 October
24 F1 Brazil 11 November
25 WEC Shanghai 18 November
26 F1 Abu Dhabi 25 November
Load More In wec


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

How Porsche developed their F1 beating monster 919 Hybrid Evo

Porsche delighted the world of motorsport with a special edition of the 919 Hybrid which d…