After 80 races of waiting, Valtteri Bottas finally managed to win in Russia after beating Ferrari drivers Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen, but who waited even longer?

Valtteri Bottas and Eddie Irvine had to wait for their 81st races to win a GP – Irvine did it in Australian GP 1999. when both McLarens retired from leading positions. They are ranked 10th on all time list of drivers who had to wait the most, but who are the remaining nine drivers? Three of them eventually became the world champions – Jenson Button (3 years after first win), Nico Rosberg (4 years later) and Mika Hakkinen (one year later).

9. Jean Alesi, 1995 Canadian GP, race #91

Jean Alesi won the 1995 Canadian GP on his 31st birthday, and this was his only F1 victory.

Alesi’s victory was the most beautiful moment of the season for many, as the Frenchman has already shown that he deserves to be the F1 winner. An extra charm to his victory was given by his number 27 on his Ferrari, which once belonged to the legendary Gilles Villeneuve. This was also the last F1 victory for the V12 engine.

When Alesi finished the race, the viewers scraped the fence and scrambled into the boxing area. The marshalls showed the black flag so all drivers on the track had to stop. Alesi was driving the winning lap and reached the hairpin on the other side of the track when he ran out of fuel. The Frenchman took the steering wheel off, climbed on the car and surfed on it until it stopped. Schumacher stopped and drove Alesi to the pits.

8. Thierry Boutsen, 1989 Australian GP, race #95

Canadian Thiery Boutsen became the first new winner after the 1986 Mexican GP won by Berger after celebrating in the rainy Canadian GP in 1989 where he had a bit of luck because spun at one point but managed to keep his Williams FW12C away from the walls.

Senna led in the McLaren Honda, but their otherwise very reliable V10 engine expired three laps before the end. Boutsen secured his first career win, and by the end of the season he had another, also in the rainy race in Australia.

7. Mika Hakkinen, 1997 European GP, race #96

Mika Hakkinen celebrated at controversial 1997 European GP in Jerez after the protagonists in title fight Schumacher and Villeneuve collided and the German retired. Villeneuve slowed down and let McLaren drivers Hakkinen and Coulthard pass because he didn’t need maximum points to win the title.

David Coulthard gave an interview to Charles Bradley in 2014, where he stated that the deal between Williams and McLaren on the eve of this race was really there.

“Ron agreed with Frank, about which we drivers had no idea, that if we helped Williams to beat the Ferrari, they would not hesitate to help us. Ron would probably have denied it today, but that has happened, “Coulthard said.

6. Giancarlo Fisichella, 2003 Brazilian GP, race #110

Alonso had a huge accident in the last sector, which caused the race to be red flagged and then there was confusion about the winner. At that point, the leader was Fisichella who had just overtaken Raikkonen, but the Finn was declared as a winner because in the event of a race stoppage classification of two laps earlier is taken.

The decision was changed a few days later at Paris court after new evidence appeared – Fisichella had twice crossed the line in the lead in the lead before Alonso’s accident and deserved to be a winner. The trophy was handed to Italian driver at San Marino GP, which was the next race of the championship.

5. Nico Rosberg, 2012 Chinese GP,race #111

Nico Rosberg secured his first pole position and his first career win in China in 2012. He also achieved the first victory for Mercedes since Monza in 1955 when Juan Manuel Fangio won in front of Stirling Moss.

Rosberg has been in Mercedes since their return to sports as a factory team in 2010 and deserved to be the driver who brought them the first win in the new era.

4. Jenson Button, 2006 Hungarian GP, race #113

Jenson Button in Honda won the 2006 Hungarian GP in first rainy race in that country in his 113th Formula 1 race. After a great season in 2004, where he was often the main threat to the dominant Ferrari, Button took his chance and drove a brilliant race in challenging conditions. He repeated the feat five years later in a McLaren.

3. Jarno Trulli, 2004 Monaco GP, race #119

After Alonso gave Renault ther only victory in 2003 in Hungary, Trulli gave them the only victory in 2004 in Monaco. The Italian was fantastic in qualifying and won the pole position while he kept the lead in the race and achieved his only career win. Next year he moved to Toyota, but by the end of his career he could not have been better than the second place.

2. Rubens Barrichello, 2000 German GP, race #123

Barrichello’s first win took place in unbelievable and special circumstances, similar to Button, but no one can say that the Brazilian did not fully deserve a great victory from the 18th on the grid at the fast Hockenheim circuit. He and Ferrari took a gamble at the final stage of the race when he remained on dry weather tyres despite some parts were still wet. Rubens managed to finish the race with no change to rain tyres and beat two McLaren drivers Hakkinen and Coulthard.

1. Mark Webber, 2009 German GP, race #130

The German Grand Prix returned to Nürburgring in 2009. when Mark Webber took his first pole position and first win in Red Bull RB5 despite serving the penalty due to a contact with Barrichello at the start of the race. Webber’s team-mate Vettel finished second and Massa third, one race before his crash in Hungary when he was hit by a spring from the Barrichello’s car.

Load More Related Articles
Load More In History


Budi prvi koji će komentirati ovu vijest!


Check Also

2008 Turkish GP – Massa conquers Istanbul for the third time in a row

Felipe Massa celebrated for the third consecutive year in Turkey on this day in 2008 ahead…